On March 30, 2015, the Resolution issued by the National Minimum Wages Commission that increases the general minimum wage and professional minimum wages for the Geographic Area "B", was published in the Official Federal Gazette, with an increase of 2.7%, effective as of April 1st, 2015.

The general minimum wage and the professional minimum wages for the Geographic Area "A", did not change.

Consequently, the daily general minimum wages, as of April 1st, 2015, are as follows:

Geographic Area

General Minimum Wage 2015

Area "A" [1]

$70.10  MXN (effective January 1st, 2015)

Area "B" [2]

$68.28 MXN (effective April 1st, 2015)

Furthermore, is important to consider this increase in order to update, if applicable, the employees' base quotation salary for the payment of social security contributions and give the proper notice to the Mexican Social Security Institute.

We will be glad to assist you in case you have any questions or require any support in connection with the above.


[1] Geographic area "A": integrated by all the municipalities of Baja California and Baja California Sur; the municipalities of Guadalupe, Juárez and Praxedis G. Guerrero, of the State of Chihuahua; Mexico City; the municipality of Acapulco de Juárez, of the State of Guerrero; the municipalities of Guadalajara, El Salto, Tlajomulco de Zúñiga, Tlaquepaque, Tonalá and Zapopan, of the State of Jalisco; the municipalities of Atizapán de Zaragoza, Coacalco de Berriozábal, Cuautitlán, Cuautitlán Izcalli, Ecatepec de Morelos, Naucalpan de Juárez, Tlalnepantla de Baz and Tultitlán, of Estado de México; the municipalities of Apodaca, General Escobedo, Guadalupe, Monterrey, Santa Catarina, San Nicolás de los Garza and San Pedro Garza García, of the State of Nuevo León; the municipalities of Agua Prieta, Altar, Atil, Bácum, Benito Juárez, Benjamín Hill, Caborca, Cajeme, Cananea, Carbó, Cucurpe, Empalme, Etchojoa, General Plutarco Elías Calles, Guaymas, Hermosillo, Huatabampo, Imuris, La Colorada, Magdalena, Naco, Navojoa, Nogales, Opodepe, Oquitoa, Pitiquito, Puerto Peñasco, San Ignacio Río Muerto, San Luis Río Colorado, San Miguel de Horcasitas, Santa Ana, Santa Cruz, Sáric, Suaqui Grande, Trincheras and Tubutama, of the State of Sonora; the municipalities of Aldama, Altamira, Antiguo Morelos, Camargo, Ciudad Madero, El Mante, Gómez Farías, González, Guerrero, Gustavo Díaz Ordaz, Matamoros, Mier, Miguel Alemán, Nuevo Laredo, Nuevo Morelos, Ocampo, Reynosa, Río Bravo, San Fernando, Tampico, Valle Hermoso and Xicoténcatl, of the State of Tamaulipas, and the municipalities of Agua Dulce, Coatzacoalcos, Coatzintla, Cosoleacaque, Las Choapas, Ixhuatlán del Sureste, Minatitlán, Moloacán, Nanchital de Lázaro Cárdenas del Río, Poza Rica de Hidalgo and Tuxpan, of the State of Veracruz de Ignacio de la Llave.

[2]  Geographic area "B": The rest of the municipalities and states of Mexico.

Originally published in April 2015

The content of this article is intended to provide a general guide to the subject matter. Specialist advice should be sought about your specific circumstances.