Brief overview of the law and enforcement regime

The Cayman Islands' Anti-Corruption Law (2014 Revision) (the "Law") came into force on 1 January 2010 with the intent of giving effect to the OECD Convention on Combating Bribery of Foreign Public Officials in International Business Transactions, as well as the United Nations Convention Against Corruption. The Law replaced the provisions relating to anti-corruption and bribery which previously existed under the Penal Code, and provides generally for four categories of corruption offences: Bribery (both domestic and foreign); Fraud on the Government; Abuses of Public or Elected Office; and Secret Commissions. There are also ancillary offences for failure to report an offence.

The Law also creates the Anti-Corruption Commission (the "Commission"), which oversees the administration of the Law. The Commission comprises the Commissioner of Police, the Complaints Commissioner, the Auditor General, and two 'appointed members', selected by the Governor from retired members of either legal practice, law enforcement or the judiciary.

Download >> Bribery & Corruption 5th Edition: Cayman Islands

The content of this article is intended to provide a general guide to the subject matter. Specialist advice should be sought about your specific circumstances.