On March 6, 2017, President Trump signed a revised version of his executive order on immigration, which restricts travel to the US for 90 days of citizens from Syria, Iran, Sudan, Somalia, Libya and Yemen (SISSLY). At the end of the 90 days, the government will provide further guidance.

Who does it affect?

  • Citizens of SISSLY that are overseas

Who is excluded?

  • Green card holders
  • Dual citizens traveling on a passport issued by a non-SISSLY country
  • Diplomats
  • Persons with travel documents other than a visa
  • Those granted refugee or asylee status

Case-by-case waivers available to:

  • Those previously admitted to the US on a visa and seeking to enter for the same purpose
  • Those with established significant contacts with the US
  • Those with significant US business or professional obligations
  • If there is hardship to a US citizen or green card-holding close family member
  • Persons needing urgent healthcare
  • US government employees
  • Persons whose work relates to an international organization under the International Organizations Immunities Act
  • Canadian immigrants issued a visa in Canada
  • US government sponsored exchange visitors (J-1)
  • No guidance provided so expect inconsistent / unpredictable outcomes

The content of this article is intended to provide a general guide to the subject matter. Specialist advice should be sought about your specific circumstances.