The Department of State has announced the opening of the registration period for the 2018 Diversity Visa (DV) lottery. As in past years, the DV lottery will allow a maximum of 50,000 "diversity immigrants" to obtain permanent residence in the United States if they are from countries with low rates of immigration to the United States. Entries for the DV-2018 lottery must be submitted electronically between noon Eastern Daylight Time (EDT) on Tuesday, October 4, 2016, and noon Eastern Standard Time (EST) on Monday, November 7, 2016. Applicants may access the electronic Diversity Visa entry form (E-DV) at during the registration period. Paper entries are not accepted.

The DV lottery is administered on an annual basis by the Department of State. For FY-2018, natives of the following countries remain ineligible to apply for the DV lottery because the countries sent a total of more than 50,000 immigrants to the United States in the previous five years: Bangladesh, Brazil, Canada, China (mainland-born), Colombia, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Haiti, India, Jamaica, Mexico, Nigeria, Pakistan, Peru, Philippines, South Korea, United Kingdom (except Northern Ireland) and its dependent territories, and Vietnam. Persons born in Hong Kong, Macau and Taiwan remain eligible. For FY-2018, persons born in Ecuador will be eligible for DV-2018.

Instructions for entering the DV-2018 diversity lottery are available at the U.S. Department of State website.

The content of this article is intended to provide a general guide to the subject matter. Specialist advice should be sought about your specific circumstances.